Place a Lucky Penny For Someone Else to Find   Leave a comment

This is something I do. I have for some time and it amuses me. I’m not sure how it started, but one day when my pocket was full of change, I thought to myself, where will this change end up? Whose pockets will these coins fill in the future? Pennies have become another of our many abandoned objects. “Things”, we have little use of and that have literally and figuratively no value, save that of the “lucky penny”‘ which for every penny in every pocket the potential exists. So it was on that day, when I first placed my lucky penny in plain sight, that it’s real value was realized. I never wondered before how lucky pennies became lucky pennies, but now that I have created dozens, perhaps hundreds it doesn’t really matter?

The beauty of my lucky penny making was partially lost on me until yesterday. I knew that that lucky penny would bring a smile to someone’s face and that was the delight in it. Creating the moment of surprise and joy for a stranger who I would never meet, was all the more sweet for me. Think about the last time you discovered a lucky penny. Did it not feel like you were 9 all over again?

When retelling the story of making lucky pennies over dinner with colleagues I was expecting nothing more than a few chuckles and odd looks at a habit I amused myself with. Instead, I received the following response, “making lucky pennies creates good karma”. I honestly never thought about that. It was never my intent to create good karma, only to amuse myself in the thought of putting a smile on someone’s face over the discovery of a little copper piece of metal.

In the early morning hours, lying awake in yet another time zone, that thought stuck with me. What does it mean to create good karma? How is karma measured and do I deserve it? My lucky penny making was never about that, and yet I can’t help but think that in some small way, my little gesture to the world may indeed be returned to me in some fanciful way.

Traveling as much as I do, gives me time to be alone with my thoughts and it is at these moments that I conjure up these crazy musings. We can all use some good karma, so I’ve decided to dedicate this imageless blog post to extending my lucky penny making to the world.

The next time you reach into your pocket or change purse and pull out a penny, place it in plain sight for someone to find. We need more lucky pennies in the world.

Thanks for stopping by.

Posted October 31, 2012 by Paul Coffin in Travel

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

