Stargazer Lily   2 comments

© 2012 Paul Coffin Photography
 

As many of my fellow photographers will attest, we tend to suffer from what my sons refer to as, GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome). I have also discovered this affliction in musicians, which both my sons happen to be.

Nikon has recently released their much-anticipated prosumer camera the D800, with a whopping 36 MP, driving the need for many of us anxious to upgrade, to examine our supporting cast of gear, not the least of which is the glass we put in front of it. In anticipation of the eagerly awaited D800 I have upgraded my lenses and have begun to put them to use in the studio on my aging D80. The reputation of Nikon lenses is second to none and Nikon continues its long tradition of making exceptional quality glass.  This studio  shot of a Tiger Lily and bud was taken with a very simple setup. One overhead softbox against a black seamless background. A few small adjustments in Lightroom 4 to push the highlights and pull back the shadow detail and voila.

I am very fortunate to be married to a fellow artist, who completely “gets me”, and understands the euphoria that accompanies the creative process that yields the artistic expression of our inner selves. Did that just sound like Lil’ C from You Think You can Dance? Oh well, it’s a pretty cool thing.

Posted April 6, 2012 by Paul Coffin in Nature, Photography, Studio

Tagged with , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Stargazer Lily

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is the prettiest stargazer lily I have seen on the internet fo far. Too bad it is not as clear ‘when printed’ as it is here — just beautiful!!! Thanks.

    • Thanks Susana for the compliment. I am hoping in the future to be able to sell prints of my photographs for those who would like them. Regrettably, I am unable to do so at this time. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

