Street Photography Revisited   1 comment

Cobble Stones and Bicycle

For some reason I have a fascination with photographing bicycles. They appear from time to time in my work and I guess you could say they fall into the category of street photography, although by definition, I would agree that’s a stretch. I took this photograph in 1988.

In the true spirit of street photography, there has been an “outing” of sorts, of a photographer of some obscurity (who has since passed), that recently has made its way onto social media that caught my attention. Her name is Vivian Maier. A newspaper article ran the story. “Vivian Maier worked as a nanny in Chicago but wandered the city taking pictures. She received no fame in her lifetime but her work has been unearthed and is now featured in a book and in a New York gallery.”

I’ve heard her compared to the venerable Henri Cartier-Bresson, W. Eugene Smith and Harry Callahan. In fact she could very well emerge from obscurity to become an American icon in street photography as her vast (mostly undiscovered) library of 100,000 negatives is catalogued and published.

Her’s is an intimate portrait of anonymity and yet her subject is anything but. Like a smooth melody that I can listen to over and over, I need to study her art and look for ways to discover my inner street photographer.

Posted January 3, 2012 by Paul Coffin in Street Photography

Tagged with , , , , ,

One response to “Street Photography Revisited

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Street photography is an art I have often enjoyed, yet struggle to do well. Interesting post.

Leave a Reply

